Anderson Elementary School

Anderson Principal Named Texas National Distinguished Principal Finalist

Mar 14, 2016

Monica Jackson, principal at Frisco ISD’s Anderson Elementary School, is among nine principals from across the state who have been selected as Texas National Distinguished Principal (NDP) finalists by the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA).

The program promotes Pre K‐8 educational excellence and focuses on the fundamental importance of the school principal.

Finalists exhibit extraordinary leadership, commitment to their students and staff, service to their communities and contributions to the profession, including their professional associations.

“These exemplary principals are guiding the future and proving students from all walks of life can be successful,” TEPSA Executive Director Harley Eckhart said.

Jackson has 20 years of experience as a school administrator, counselor and teacher. Her bachelor’s degree is from Texas Christian University and her master’s degree is from Texas A&M University-Commerce. She has served as principal of Anderson Elementary since 2009.

Jackson was chosen for the honor after a peer review of her educational philosophies and accomplishments both in and out of the classroom. Each of the nine finalists then showcased their achievements during a school visit by a team of educators.

The award recipient will be announced in May at a surprise school visit. That principal will receive $10,000 and represent Texas in Washington, D.C. as the 2016 NDP.

The National Association of Elementary School Principals sets award criteria for the honor. The Texas award is sponsored by TEPSA, and the program is supported with a generous donation from Mentoring Minds.

“We could not be more proud to partner with TEPSA in supporting the Texas educators who work tirelessly to help their students thrive. Together, our goal is the same: to give students a quality education rooted in critical thinking so that they succeed, not just in the classroom, but in life,” said Robert L. Bush, CEO of Mentoring Minds.

All finalists will be recognized at the TEPSA Awards Reception on June 15 in Austin.