Independence High School

Independence Student to Compete in Regional Speech Competition

Mar 19, 2015

WinnerAlcatel-Lucent hosted the NMA Leadership Development Organization Speech Contest in Plano on February 26.

Anjali Sridharan of Independence High School was selected to represent Alcatel-Lucent in the North Texas Council Competition to be held in Arlington in April.

Sridharan, a graduate of the Frisco Young Entrepreneurs Academy and CEO of Mine-It-Design, won $300 and will be honored as the featured speaker during the Alcatel-Lucent Leadership Association meeting on March 17.

NMA created a Speech Contest in 1998 dedicated to the Free Enterprise System which involves students in grades nine through twelve where they create and deliver a speech based upon their interpretation of our Free Enterprise system. In 2009 NMA changed the Speech Contest from "American Enterprise" to "Leadership" to promote better understanding of Leadership and the role it plays in today’s world. The Speech Contest has remained the only youth program offered by NMA.

Leadership is the speech topic – what it is, what comprises its attributes, who personifies your definition of a “leader”, or whatever else works its way into the students’ understanding of the subject. NMA reaches out to Toastmasters International to aid in the critical judging area and recommends that all levels of competition be judged by the members of that organization. All speeches must adhere to the general theme of Leadership and must be submitted to the contest director prior to each level.

Contestants in this chapter competition were Andreon Watson, Anika Khan, Ashlyn Eperjesi, Haley Drake, Lauren Taylor, and Taylor Boyd all from Lewisville High School and coached by Teacher/Instructor Sally Squibb and Liana Massengale; Alisa Buchanan and Sarah Samuel from Liberty High School and coached by Teacher/Instructor Brian Wysong; Keirth Sivarajah and Krish Sivarajah from Heritage High School; Anjali Sridharan from Independence High School; Alexis Sanders from Frisco High School and coached by Juanita Posey.

Winners advance through regional competitions and the finalists have their expenses paid to the NMA Annual Conference to compete for a $4,000 scholarship top prize.

The National Management Association (NMA) was founded in 1925 by Mr. Charles F. Kettering. Initially named the National Association of Foreman, NMA is a national, non-profit leadership development organization headquartered in Dayton, Ohio with a membership of over 22,000 and is dedicated to the realities of changing workforces and a customer base that is focused on not only management development but leadership development in a global economy.