Independence High School

BPA Students Represent Frisco ISD at National Leadership Conference

May 14, 2015

Ten members of Frisco ISD Business Professionals of America attended and competed at the BPA National Leadership Conference in Anaheim, California May 6-10. These students competed among 5,600 BPA members from across the nation.

Business Professionals of America is the leading Career and Technical Student Organization (CTSO) for students pursuing careers in business management, office administration, information technology and other related career fields. BPA has 43,000 members in over 2,300 chapters in 23 states.

Accompanied by BPA advisors Jerry Burks of Heritage High School, Kelly Munro of Frisco High School and Kip Bledsoe of the Career and Technical Education Center, Frisco ISD students earned many top honors and were industry certified as Microsoft Technology Associates and Microsoft Office Specialists.

Congratulations to the following students for their accomplishments:

Career and Technical Education Center

  • Zach Smith – 5th in Network Administration Using Cisco and earned a Microsoft Technology Associates certification in Security Fundamentals
  • Caleb Hern – 15th in Computer Network Technology and earned a Microsoft Technology Associates certification in Networking Fundamentals

Frisco High School

  • Erin Melican – Tested and was certified as a Microsoft Office Specialist in PowerPoint and Excel
  • Mrs. Kelly Munro – Recognized as National Honor Advisor for Ten Years Service in BPA

Heritage High School

  • Ethan Frie – Elected National Vice President, tested for and received National Merit Scholar, and was awarded a $1,000 National Officer Scholarship
  • Manu Kondeti – 3rd in Advanced Spreadsheet 
  • Deja Gamble – Tested and was certified as Microsoft Office Specialist in PowerPoint
  • Six Heritage BPA members earned the Ambassador Torch Award, which is the highest Torch Award in BPA. Members must perform a minimum of 490 hours of community service. Deja Gamble, Ethan Frie, Keirth Sivarajah and Manu Kondeti received their award while attending the national conference. Other members earning the award are Abhi Kamboji and Harshini Vivek.

Independence High School

  • ​Prithvi Karyampudi – 10th in Graphic Design Promotion

Liberty High School

  • Cooper Morris – 2nd in Computer Network Technology and earned a Microsoft Technology Associates certification in Networking Fundamentals, Windows Operating System Fundamentals and Security Fundamentals

State BPA Officers, Erin Melican, Parliamentarian, and Reuben Rusk, Secretary, of Frisco High School, and Keirth Sivarajah, Historian, of Heritage High School also attended the national conference and represented Texas by performing duties required of state officers.