High School Journalism Students Receive State Honors

Jun 07, 2018

Newspaper, yearbook and broadcast students from across Frisco ISD earned many top places in individual competitions sponsored by the Interscholastic League Press Conference (ILPC).

Students from across the state submitted entries for individual awards in categories ranging from news writing to sports photography to yearbook theme development. The competition is keen, and the champions represent the state’s finest in scholastic journalism.

In addition, several school publications and broadcasts were honored with Awards of Distinguished Merit, the association's highest rating. Another was recognized at the achievement level.

The top publications are also entered into competition for ILPC's prestigious Gold, Silver and Bronze Star awards. Recipients of the Star Awards represent the top 10 percent of student newspapers and yearbooks in Texas. The Liberty High School online newspaper, Wingspan, earned the Gold Star.

Honored publications include:

Online Newspaper

Distinguished Merit and Gold Star
Liberty High School, Wingspan


Distinguished Merit
Independence High School, The Reign
Reedy High School, The Roar
Wakeland High School, The Prowler


Distinguished Merit
Heritage High School, Coyote Nation TV
Independence High School, Knight TV
Liberty High School, WTV and WTV Daily Update

Lebanon Trail High School, LBTV

Congratulations to all the individual student winners as well:

Online Newspaper

Sports News Story
2nd Place - Keegan Williams, Liberty

Entertainment Review
3rd Place - Anya Thakur, Liberty
Honorable Mention - Marisa Uddin, Liberty

Editorial Writing
1st Place - Staff, Liberty

Personal Column
3rd Place - Abby Dasgupta, Liberty

Personal Opinion Column
Honorable Mention - Melody Tavallaee, Liberty

3rd Place - Avery Nolden, Liberty

Multimedia Package
3rd Place - Keegan Williams, Liberty
Honorable Mention - Wade Glover, Megan Lin, Divya Murali, Liberty

General News Photo
2nd Place - Roy Nitzan, Liberty


Theme Selection and Development
Honorable Mention - Kayleigh Kowaleski, Bryn Allen, Heritage

Theme Copy and Captions
1st Place - Kayleigh Kowaleski, Bryn Allen, Heritage

Index Spread
3rd Place - Garrett Smith, Heritage

Feature Spread
Honorable Mention - Kayleigh Kowaleski, Bryn Allen, Heritage
Honorable Mention - Staff, Heritage

Student Life Spread
Honorable Mention - Alice Delaney, Abby Fedorow, Heritage
Honorable Mention - Alice Delaney, Abby Fedorow, Heritage

Sports Spread
3rd Place - Landry Thompson, Reedy

Class Spread
Honorable Mention - Elaina Benson, Garrett Smith, Heritage

Multi Topic Spread
1st Place - Raven Perez, Heritage
Honorable Mention - Cole Clark, Heritage

Secondary Coverage/ Alt. Copy Treatment
Honorable Mention - Kayleigh Kowaleski, Bryn Allen, Heritage

Student Life Feature Story
Honorable Mention - Malorie McGruder, Heritage

Academic Feature Story
Honorable Mention - Garrett Smith, Heritage

Sports Feature Story
Honorable Mention - Shreya Chari, Heritage

Club/Organization Feature Story
Honorable Mention - Raven Perez, Heritage
Honorable Mention - Paige Reagor, Heritage

Personality Profile Story
3rd Place - Malorie McGruder, Heritage
Honorable Mention - Shreya Chari, Heritage

Sports Feature Photo
Honorable Mention - Paige Reagor, Heritage

Academic Photo
1st Place - Kayleigh Kowaleski, Heritage

Current Year Yearbook

Student Life-Focused Spread
3rd Place - Jennifer Dragun, Independence

Sports-Focused Spread
Honorable Mention - Grace Plain, Independence

Academic Focused Spread
2nd Place - Grace Plain, Independence

People Section Spread
2nd Place - Jennifer Dragun, Natalie Turner, Sarah Turner, Lindsey Cummins, Independence

Coverage Spread
2nd Place - Taylor Ellison, Independence


General News Story
2nd Place - Wade Glover, Liberty
2nd Place - Annie Lammes, Lebanon Trail (MS-4A)

General News Writing
2nd Place - Neha Perumalla, Liberty
Honorable Mention - Megan Linn, Independence

General Feature Writing
1st Place - Divya Murali, Neha Perumalla, Liberty

General Sports Writing
2nd Place - Katherine Derryberry, Heritage

Feature Story
3rd Place - Lauren Goodman, CTE Center

General Sports Story
2nd Place - Carter Brock, Liberty
2nd Place - Zachary Widner, Lebanon Trail (MS-4A)
3rd Place - Bella Rodriguez, Olivia Howell, Independence

Sports Feature Story
2nd Place - Victoria Bruce, CTE Center

Intro Sequence
Honorable Mention - Miranda Servey, Heritage

Special Coverage
Honorable Mention - Giulliam Canlas, Lebanon Trail (MS-4A)