Cobb Middle School Named National PTA School of Excellence

Mar 01, 2018

National PTA School of Excellence

Cobb Middle School PTA has earned the highest honor given by the National PTA to recognize innovative and effective family engagement.

Cobb PTA is the first in Texas to win the Phoebe Apperson Hearst Outstanding Family-School Partnership Award, named for National PTA co-founder Phoebe Apperson Hearst.

The award is presented to PTAs that have demonstrated outstanding efforts to engage families in student success and school improvements.

To be considered for the award, PTAs must also earn the National PTA School of Excellence designation. Cobb is the first Frisco ISD PTA to earn that distinction, which recognizes commitment to building an inclusive and welcoming school community where all families contribute to enriching the educational experience and overall well-being of students.

“The impact of PTA at Cobb Middle School is immeasurable," said School Principal Kecia Theodore. “PTA is visible and present in all that we do. It is truly woven into the fabric of who we are as school. We are proud to be Frisco ISD’s first National PTA School of Excellence and look forward to more to come.”

Cobb PTA's winning application detailed their partnership with Cobb and FISD, including support for numerous school and Districtwide events and programs. It also highlighted successful initiatives such as a teacher grant program, along with efforts to welcome new families, celebrate diversity and advocate for public education, among others.

“This award was a team effort and it doesn’t stop with last year – it’s continual striving for excellence,” said Melinda Samberson, immediate past president of the Cobb PTA and current president of the Frisco ISD Council of PTAs.

“It’s about the PTA, the students, the teachers and staff, the administration, and the district leaders all coming together to make, not only Cobb, but all of our schools better – that’s our vision as a council and my vision as council president. We can do this together as a team and the students of Frisco ISD will benefit. That is the power and value of PTA.”

Several FISD, City of Frisco and PTA leaders, including National PTA President-Elect Leslie Boggs, joined Cobb in celebrating the achievement during a schoolwide pep rally on Feb. 23.

Current Cobb PTA President Kimberly Baker and past presidents Samberson, Kristan Olfers, Terrie Leonard and Melinda Wemhoff were among those recognized for their leadership and contributions to the Cobb community.

“Frisco ISD is grateful for the tremendous support PTA offers, not only at Cobb, but across the District,” said Superintendent of Schools Dr. Mike Waldrip. “Involved and informed parents are critical to the success of our students and to our work as educators. The partnership between the school district and PTA is strong and only grows stronger with increased parent participation and engagement.”

The Hearst Award comes with a $2,000 award, which the Cobb PTA will use to support events and programs for students, parents and teachers, including classroom grants.