Maus Middle School

Students Participate in African-American Male Academic Bowl

Feb 10, 2016

Team from Roach Middle SchoolSeveral teams from three Frisco ISD middle schools - Maus, Roach, and Scoggins, as well as two students from Sem Elementary School - participated in the annual "Aiming for the Stars" African-American Male Academic Bowl competition at the University of Texas at Dallas on Saturday, January 30.

The "Aiming for the Stars" Academic Bowl is designed to liberate, validate and accentuate passion among African-American males to excel in school and beyond. The event, offered to elementary and middle school students across the state of Texas, is intended to be a positive forum that promotes out-of-school learning and provides supplemental access to information and relationships that can be of paramount importance to lifelong academic success.

This was Scoggins Middle School's fourth year to participate, and they took eight three-person teams of sixth, seventh and eighth graders to compete. Students participated in a quiz bowl format, in which they answered questions about math, science, African-American inventors and business executives, and events related to the Civil Rights Movement, among other topics.

One Frisco ISD seventh grade team from Scoggins, composed of students Josiah Hartman, Cedron Webb and Caden Bedford-Crandall, won first place in the middle school division among 21 schools. The students were coached and mentored by parent and community volunteer, Kevin Porter, and Scoggins counselor, Christie Combest.

Multiple teams from Maus Middle School and Roach Middle School also competed. Maus’s eighth grade team, made up of Paul Holland, Xavier Tartt, and Mahmood "Moe" Akere advanced to semi-finals, according to Principal Chakosha Powell. Roach’s “Navy team," Devin Dawson, Emmanuel Gacheru, and Harrison Young, made it to quarter-finals. Two Sem students also competed at the elementary level.

FISD students are finding this academic bowl a great challenge and even more teams are expected to participate next year.