Vandeventer Middle School

FISD Hosts First-Ever Middle School Theatrical Design Contest

Mar 04, 2015

The Frisco ISD Fine Arts Department is proud to announce the winners of the inaugural Middle School Theatrical Design Contest, held in conjunction with the Middle School One-Act Play District Competition in February.

Over the past few years, Frisco ISD theatre has seen impressive growth in the technical theatre programs across the high school campuses, which has filtered down into the middle school theatre programs. In the past four years, students from Frisco High School, Heritage High School and Wakeland High School have been represented at the UIL One-Act Play State Program as state-level competitors in the UIL Theatrical Design Contest, and students from Centennial and Wakeland high schools have been chosen to serve on the UIL One-Act Play Honor Crew. While technical theatre programs have been in existence at the high-school level for many years, they have slowly been incorporated into the middle school theatre programs as well. Of the 13 middle school campuses in Frisco ISD, nine now feature a technical theatre class.

Over the summer, the high school technical theatre directors met to discuss the implementation of a middle school theatrical design contest to further support and develop the middle school technical theatre programs. This contest was developed from the high school contest, and middle school students could compete in three design categories: set design, costume design or marketing design. In its first year, 23 students from six middle school campuses submitted entries to the contest. Entries were displayed at the Middle School One-Act Play District Competition at Liberty High School, and awards were announced that evening.

Congratulations to the first-ever FISD winners in this contest:

Costume Design

1. Axelle Taillat of Clark
2. Shanell Bagdasaryants of Clark
3. Ivy Walker of Stafford

Set Design

1. Fernanda Salas of Stafford
2. Ivy Walker of Stafford
3. Kyle Strickland of Vandeventer

Marketing Design

1. Fernanda Salas of Stafford
2. David Figueroa of Vandeventer
3. Shelby Luhring of Clark