Career and Technical Education Center

Journalism Dean visits CTEC Newsroom

Apr 01, 2015

Frisco ISD-TV Audio/Video Production students at the Frisco ISD Career and Technical Education (CTE) Center were treated to a recent visit from veteran journalist Dorothy Bland.

The dean of the University of North Texas Frank W. and Sue Mayborn School of Journalism, Bland advised students on journalism-related workshops offered by the university as she encouraged them to seek admission to UNT.

Students asked various questions about studies at UNT and expressed excitement about meeting Bland and learning about the opportunities she shared.

“I think it was a unique experience. It’s not every day that you get to have a dean in your classroom, and she was very outgoing,” student Maria Lempke said.

Lempke is a senior at Wakeland High School who plans to study at UNT in the fall.

During the visit, Bland toured the entire Frisco ISD-TV suite, taking photos and recording video of the facilities of which she was impressed.

“I plan to take this back to share with my faculty. They’re not going to believe this," Bland said.

Frisco ISD-TV Executive Producer Eva Coleman coordinated the visit and saw it as a way to fortify the bridge between high school and collegiate-level learning.

“It’s one thing to hear or read about studying media at the college level. For a top college leader to want to come into the high school classroom to engage students, that’s clearly on a different level,” Coleman said. “I push my students to go beyond the norm and I have to do that with the opportunities I provide them as well. Dean Bland is special, and it was evident during her time with us.”

Several of Coleman’s former students have continued their media studies at UNT. Some have even graduated and are currently working in the journalism field. Of special note are UNT alum Matthew Torres who is a morning reporter for WTVF NewsChannel 5, the CBS affiliate in Nashville, Tennessee and Millicent Macena, current North Texas Television (NTTV) Program Director.