Career and Technical Education Center

Consistent Effort Equals Consistent Rewards

May 02, 2016

The 2015-2016 season has been a stellar year for Frisco ISD-TV programming.  The student media crew that covers the entire Frisco Independent School District, housed at their studios inside the Career and Technical Education Center, has produced numerous award-winning stories throughout the year.  Each school year, the contests are various, the awards are many, however the players aren’t the same.

“Some look at us winning awards as ‘old hat’,” Frisco ISD-TV Executive Producer Eva Coleman said. “I’m quick to point out that my crew’s honors should be met with the same level of first-time excitement because they’re different students,” she added. 

From gold and silver medals, honorable mentions, and stories selected for feature on the big screen at the Angelika Theater in Dallas,  to sweeping first place honors across multiple video categories in another contest, here’s the run-down of their 2016 accomplishments so far:


The Dallas Morning News High School Journalism Competition
Frisco ISD-TV (Frisco ISD Career & Technical Education Center)

  • Finalist – Video Single-Entry Category – Against the Wall (Michael Ramirez)-3rd Place (Bronze) Received
  • Finalist – Best Series or Project School Category – Frisco ISD-TV Episode #0642nd Place (Silver) Received

(Natasha Burklow, Michael Ramirez, Kassidy Freeman, Brian Barisa, Erin Davis, Oscar Mijangos, Miranda Alexander)

La Vie Theaters Rising Star Film Festival
Frisco ISD-TV (Frisco ISD Career & Technical Education Center)

Press Women of Texas (PWT) Edith Fox King High School Contest
Frisco ISD-TV (Frisco ISD Career & Technical Education Center)

*1st Place PWT winners move on to the National Federation of Press Women (NFPW) competition.

UIL Interscholastic League Press Conference
Frisco ISD-TV (Frisco ISD Career & Technical Education Center)

  • 1st Place – General News/Feature/Sports Report Writing – Against the Wall (Michael Ramirez)
  • Honorable Mention – Anchor Presentation – Frisco ISD-TV Episode #064 (Natasha Burklow / Michael Ramirez)
  • Honorable Mention – Videography – Lee (Tee) Time (Devin Roland)
  • Honorable Mention – Producing – Frisco ISD-TV (Staff)
  • 2nd Place – Adviser’s Challenge – Objective Writing (Eva Coleman)

Student Television Network (STN) Nationals
Frisco ISD-TV (Frisco ISD Career & Technical Education Center)

2015-2016 Frisco ISD-TV crew members are:

Senior Producer / Senior Editor Natasha Burklow (Independence High School)
Producers / Editors Miranda Alexander (Frisco High School), Brian Barisa (Wakeland High School), Tori Bates (Wakeland High School), Brandon Byrd (Centennial High School), Tyson Clendening (Frisco High School), Erin Davis (Heritage High School), Kassidy Freeman (Wakeland High School), Oscar Mijangos (Frisco High School), Michael Ramirez (Wakeland High School), Madison Ramsey (Frisco High School), Devin Roland (Wakeland High School), Mary Kate Sunderman (Independence High School)

“I’m so proud and honored to lead my team that consistently produces at a high level,” Coleman said.  “I know they’re capable and I don’t expect them to do anything less.” 

Frisco ISD-TV programming airs on Frisco ISD cable channels in the cities of Frisco, Plano and Little Elm.  You can view their productions via their YouTube Channel as well.

Frisco ISD-TV crew members consist of students enrolled in Audio/Video Production and Advanced Audio/Video Production at the Frisco ISD Career and Technical Education Center.  Executive Producer Eva Coleman has a professional media career that spans over 22 years in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.  In 12 years as an instructor, Coleman has started three different television programs on three different campuses in Frisco ISD, and was named the inaugural National Teacher of the Year in 2013 for the Student Television Network.

PHOTO ATTACHED: L to R – (front row) Executive Producer Eva Coleman, Erin Davis, Tori Bates, Kassidy Freeman, Miranda Alexander, Senior Producer/Senior Editor Natasha Burklow, Mary Kate Sunderman, (back row) Devin Roland, Brandon Byrd, Michael Ramirez, Oscar Mijangos, Brian Barisa, (not pictured – Tyson Clendening and Madison Ramsey)