Career and Technical Education Center

Frisco ISD-TV recognized for media excellence during NSPA National Convention

Dec 07, 2016

Episode 64 Anchor Pic

The Journalism Education Association (JEA) / National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) Fall National High School Journalism Convention was held November 10 – 13 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Recently named finalists in the Broadcast Pacemaker competition, Frisco ISD-TV was formally honored during the convention for this accomplishment.

“I take pride in the work that my crew produces year after year,” Frisco ISD-TV Executive Producer Eva Coleman said.  “This is our fourth trip to the finalist round of scholastic journalism’s oldest and most prestigious prize.  Although we weren’t named winners, it’s definitely nothing to frown about!”

The recognized episode, Frisco ISD-TV show #064, was led by anchors Natasha Burklow (now studying Broadcast Journalism at St. Francis College in Brooklyn, NY) and Michael Ramirez (now studying Media with specialization in Sports at Indiana University). Current Frisco ISD-TV Senior Producers/Senior Editors Miranda Alexander (Frisco High School), Erin Davis (Heritage High School), Oscar Mijangos (Frisco High School), Kassidy Freeman (Wakeland High School) and Brian Barisa (Wakeland High School) contributed to this show as well.

See full 2016 Broadcast Pacemaker results here.